The Pain of Self-discovery

Self-discovery isn’t always pleasant.

Then again, perhaps I’m not truly discovering anything I don’t already know about myself when I come to grips with my shortcomings. It’s like Paul said:

Although I want to do good, evil is right there with me. …

What a wretched man I am! Who will rescue me from this body that is subject to death? Thanks be to God, who delivers me through Jesus Christ our Lord! (Romans 7:21, 24-25.)

I know my faults, and take refuge in Paul’s conclusion: I am delivered from myself through the work of Jesus.

That is something worth discovering.

***

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The Pain of Self-discovery

  1. Jim Bruner says:

    Amen, Tim. The implications of this insight are profound, one being that we see the futility in the idea of self-help.

  2. Jeannie Prinsen says:

    In the Beth Moore study I’m currently doing (on life and ministry of John), she emphasizes how important it is to agree with God about our sin, but also to agree with him about how we are free from the power of our sin because of Jesus. If we only focus on the first, we’re hopeless and defeated; but if we only accept the second, then we really aren’t being truthful. I’m paraphrasing her… But I thought this was a very good point, and it fits well with your post, I think.

    • Tim says:

      That pairing is a good illustration of how gracious the gospel really is.

    • Amen to the post and amen to what Jeannie says! Amen, amen and amen! I’m lost and useless and worthless… but I am also treasured, polished and priceless (even though I don’t deserve it). I am loved by the King of Kings. How can I not fall to my knees in adoration? Thank you, Jesus.

Talk to me (or don't)

