The Sunday We Got Beat by Daylight Savings Time

We’d woken up feeling great. The morning sun shined through the window onto the breakfast table and as we ate we agreed that this was a Sunday that couldn’t be beat: we were up early, we were rested, and we were ready for church without any rushing out the door whatsoever. In a word, we were chipper.

Then the phone rang.

“Tim, it’s Donna.” Donna was our church’s secretary. “Are you and Liz all right?”

I looked at Liz. That would be my wife.

“Sure. What’s up?”

“You two are supposed to prepare communion this morning.”

My hand covered the phone. “We’re supposed to do the communion plates this morning.”

“Tell Donna we’ll be there soon.”

I told Donna.

She said, “Church starts in 15 minutes.”

I looked at the clock and shook my head. “It’s over an hour until church.”

“We set the clocks ahead last night, Tim.”

I had my hand over the phone again. “It’s daylight savings time today.”

“Tell Donna we’re leaving now.”

We got to church and a couple of people had jumped in to get the plates ready. Which meant we could go in and not be too late for the service that had already started.

I don’t remember being asked to prepare communion again.

***

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The Sunday We Got Beat by Daylight Savings Time

  1. Oh, dear! 🙂 😦 These things happen. I remember once at our former church several adults were going to be doing profession of faith, including one young married couple. But the 2 of them failed to show. I was usher that morning and kept scanning the parking lot for them. The pastor simply decided to delay that part of the service until they arrived; finally they did, having forgotten to change their clocks.

  2. Mary Anne says:

    Heh. One of my best memories of Mom is when she and some of the women in our Church took turns baking bread to use for Communion. After services, kids would stampede the kitchen trying to get some of Mom’s leftover bread because it was so delicious. I never take Communion without thinking of that–gives a whole new dimension to “taste and see that the Lord is good . . .”

    I love Daylight Saving Time but the transition can be a real beast for the first few days!

    • Tim says:

      When I was a kid there was a woman who always baked fresh communion bread. It was tempting to grab a fistful as they passed the plate.

  3. Muff Potter says:

    “…Only a white man would cut a foot off his blanket, sew it onto the other end, and then claim he has a longer blanket…”
    — Attr. to a Lakota Medicine Man on daylight savings time —

Talk to me (or don't)

