The Things I Never Knew I Was Going to Know

I love LSNED.

No, I did not misspell the word “lends”, although I do like it when someone lends me a hand, lends me an ear, or lends me a tenner.

LSNED reminds me that I Learn Something New Every Day. There is so much I never knew I was going to know. For example:

1. Blue moons are real: They are the second full moon in one calendar month, and they don’t happen all that often.

You might have already known that, but did you know that some years have two blue moons while others have none? 2012 even had back to back blue moon months, August and September.

All right, maybe you already knew that too, but did you know that once in a blue moon can also be expressed as 1.16699016 × 10-8 hertz? I have no idea what that means, but that’s what Google showed me when I searched the phrase “once in a blue moon”.

2. It’s spelled extravert, not extrovert: When Carl Jung popularized the phrases introversion and extraversion, that’s how he spelled them (and he ought to know!).

Changing the fifth letter from a to o came later, mostly from people who didn’t bother to learn their a’s from their o’s. It’s an “alteration influenced by introvert”, and after all who can blame those people for being influenced thusly. Everyone knows extraverts wish they were more like us introverts and if a little thing like changing an a to an o makes them feel better, well let them have at it.

3. James = Jacob: The original Latin was Jacobus, so it’s easy to see how it traces back to Jacob (thanks Beth Moore for pointing this out to me). What’s not so easy to see is how it ended up as James in English. I suppose we can blame the Italians for introducing the letter m in their version of the name, Giacomo.

Now imagine you lived in Nazareth about 2000 years ago and one of the town’s family’s named their sons Joshua and Jacob. You can imagine that the neighbors thought those parents had high hopes for their children.  So when Jesus (the same name as Old Testament Joshua) and his brother James (named for Jacob, also known as Israel) were growing up, I wonder how many of the other families kept a close eye on them to see how they’d turn out.

There’s Nothing New Under the Sun, But So Much to Learn

Even though I seem to LSNED, the Bible tells us that there is nothing new under the sun. So how can I learn something new each day?

It’s because, as Jesus’ friend John pointed out, there’s so much to learn about God that there aren’t enough books in the world to hold it all. But we have the Book that tells us what we need to know, and I haven’t yet found the person who has mastered every bit of information in it.

For me, I find that whenever I open up the Bible I learn something new. It might be something new about God, new about me, or new about the world he has created.

Sometimes it’s all three.

LSNED.

***

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Things I Never Knew I Was Going to Know

  1. Pingback: The Things I Never Knew I Was Going to Know by Tim Fall — Tim’s Blog – Just One Train Wreck After Another @tim_fall | Talmidimblogging

  2. I will henceforth be sure to spell extravert correctly, even though my computer has underlined that spelling with a red squiggly line. We introverts ARE very influential, aren’t we?

Talk to me (or don't)

