A Short Dialog on Drinking Coffee and Fixing Other People’s Sins

[A somewhat fictional conversation in a supermarket parking lot.]

“Hello.”

“Hi … do we know each other?”

“I’ve seen you around church and heard that the way you live is sinful
and I thought you’d like me to tell you why.”

“Interesting, but shouldn’t we get to know
each other before you try to fix my sins?”

“God might strike you down and then it’ll be too late.”

“What if God strikes you down first?”

“Me? Why would God strike me down?”

“I don’t know. Why would he strike me down
if what you’ve got to say is so important?”

“I didn’t mean he’d literally strike you down.”

“Do you know anyone God has literally struck down?”

“No.”

“Who do you know, then?”

“Me? I know lots of people. Why?”

“I thought we might have some friends in common.
Want to hit the coffee shop and find out?”

“Um, OK, sure.”

[After sitting together over coffee for a while.]

“So what was it you wanted to tell me?”

“I can’t remember. Can we meet for coffee again sometime?”

“Sure. It’s nice getting to know you.”

“Yeah, you too.”

***

My dear brothers and sisters, take note of this: Everyone should be quick to listen, slow to speak and slow to become angry, because human anger does not produce the righteousness that God desires. (James 1:19-20.)

***

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to A Short Dialog on Drinking Coffee and Fixing Other People’s Sins

  1. Kathy Heisleman says:

    Why I don’t support “cold call evangelism”…

  2. This is great, Tim. We’re way too inclined to focus on the speck in other people’s eyes.

  3. Pastor_Bob says:

    There is a way to tell someone….
    Step ONE is to ask God if this is for you to mention.

Talk to me (or don't)

