Women: stop pretending around men

I praise you because I am fearfully and wonderfully made; your works are wonderful, I know that full well. (Psalm 139:14.)

***

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Women: stop pretending around men

  1. Laura says:

    Great meme! You are okay with link shares Tim. : ) A book I recently reviewed exposes this “myth”: Biblical submission requires that I give up being “me.” Review here: https://lightenough.wordpress.com/2017/07/14/mythofsubmission/

  2. Pastor_Bob says:

    I LIKE IT!
    To go out on a limb:
    A “real man” wants her to be the best, be honest, and help him be the best. This is done in part by her being open and honest about her talents and abilities, especially where he needs those skills to be better.
    It is easy to go on and on — suffice to say this is a start at her being the best, and him appreciating it.
    (The opposite is true to, but you started this a bit one sided.)

    • Pastor_Bob says:

      ps. Might the wording be a bit clearer – I got but had to read it few times to make sure I missed nothing.

    • Lea says:

      “The opposite is true to, but you started this a bit one sided”

      Pretty sure that was on purpose, as there is no shortage of men willing to tell a woman where she needs to be better.

  3. Lea says:

    Hide it under a bushel, No! I’m going to let it shine.

  4. When I was in high school, I was told that I needed to find a man who was smarter than I am, with the implication that men can’t handle who I am. I found a man who is different than I am. I don’t need to pretend to be less intelligent or less anything. God made me and my husband to be who we are – and 25 years of marriage later, it seems to be working.

  5. Muff Potter says:

    Let’s face it, some guys have egos so fragile that just the mere thought of having to deal with a strong and powerful woman has them quivering in their boots.
    I think smart and savy women are sexy!

  6. Donna says:

    Hi Tim,
    As I am putting together a class on visual art in history I happened to come across an icon c.1380AD entitled “Saint Catherine Disputing and Two Donors. It’s tempera painting on a wooden panel with gold that is from the MET Museum. Here is the information regarding it:

    “A princess of great learning and beauty, Saint Catherine of Alexandria (fourth century) was challenged to a debate with fifty pagan orators, all of whom she converted to Christianity. Here she counts off the points of her dispute to two men who wear haloes as an indication of their conversion by her arguments (and future martyrdom by Emperor Maxentius). Two diminutive donors wearing the habits of Franciscan tertiaries kneel at the left. It dates about 1380.”

    And the link of the image:
    http://www.metmuseum.org/art/collection/search/435863?sortBy=Relevance&deptids=11&when=A.D.+1000-1400&ft=*&offset=0&rpp=100&pos=21

    What struck me just now is this, (should this have actually taken place) is a woman who has spoken so eloquently as to convert not other women but pagan MEN to Christ…hmmm…that sounds like a woman preaching the gospel! Praise God! Ha!ha! Even in art women have been depicted for all memorial as evangelists and preachers to men!
    Thought you’d like to know that. 😀

  7. Donna says:

    Your welcome! I’m going to keep an eye out for more of these artworks from now on. I’m wondering if there are more like this, if so, artists may have used it as a subtle means to communicated to women down through history to use their gifts and calling to preach.

Talk to me (or don't)

